FERPA and HIPPA are two very important legal acts that provide rights to parents and students alike in the educational system.  One of the main points of FERPA that I knew was the transfer of rights from parent to student when the student turns 18 years of age.  I didn’t know that a parent can still access the educational files of the student if the parents can claim the student as a dependent on their IRS tax forms.  I suppose that the student is still considered a “dependent” in the eyes of the government, so it makes sense that parents could access those files.

Screenshot 2016-03-19 at 11.10.42 AM.png

Numerous forms of data are collected by my local school district throughout the school year.   Demographic information, standardized test results, and parent and student surveys are all collected for the educational portfolios.  For state testing, Onsted uses Work Keys, PSAT, SAT, ACT, MEEP, and M-STEP tests to evaluate student success and growth.  The school district also uses the information when evaluating teachers.  In this way, the overall outcome of student performance on the state tests (this year, Work Keys is our test of evaluation) directly affects the teachers’ and their reviews.  Because of this, teachers work tirelessly in order to provide more for students so that they will have a better chance to succeed on the state tests.

Screenshot 2016-03-19 at 11.24.58 AM.png

In my classroom, I collect data using several methods to better inform my practice but also to show the students their progress.  At the beginning of my first year teaching, I had students write a letter to me introducing themselves and illustrating their goals in life, in school, and in my Spanish classroom.  This year, I had a similar assignment, but sent it out using Google Forms.  I also gave a parent survey using Google Forms this year which allows me to access contact information in seconds.

Other forms of assessment and data collection that I utilize in my classroom include Kahoot! , Eggspert and Quizlet.  These give me almost immediate feedback on information retention for students allowing me to stop, drop, and teach or continue sailing. These resources make teaching a little easier for teachers and more interactive for students.

For my unit on Don Quijote, students created mini-skits and worksheets to present to their peers.  At the end of their presentations, I sent out Google Forms for peer evaluations.  Students then used the information to better inform their teaching and performance abilities in Spanish.

 

