This is probably one of my most favorite things to do right now: participate in Twitter chats and collaborate with educators across the United States and Canada.  I can’t wait for our weekly chats and the possibilities of new ideas and suggestions. I’ve participated in #miched, #langchat, and #ecsdchat chats.  They were very informative and helpful to me as a second-year teacher.

Screenshot 2016-03-02 at 12.02.35 PM.png

Recently, I participated in a #miched chat where the focus was on student-led  assessments.  I shared my recent attempts for student-created rubrics.  Some of the participants of the chat were interested in my work with this, so I shared an example with them so that they can reference it in their own practices!  It was a great experience that I hope to have again in the near future.  Who know, I may even lead a chat someday!

I hope to participate in the New Teacher Chat (#ntchat) on Twitter someday. I think it would be good to hear how other teachers in their first few years of teaching are coping with the changes and rolling with the punches. There was an article that caught my attention which is why I’m intrigued. It was about what teachers should never say to their students.  Thankfully, I haven’t said one! 🙂

The video that I watched was Video Assessment.  This is something that I introduced last year in my first year of teaching.  I had a variety of results with the projects.  It was very informative for me.  I like that my students can reflect on their projects and edit the information that they do not want to share with the classroom as well as redo sections that do not make the assignment requirements.  They will also peer review each others’ work which creates a “perfection” complex that students feel the need to go above and beyond the assignment to stand out among their peers.  While this is not a goal of the teachers, it does create a sense of competition and an attitude of “won’t settle for less than the best”.  This can create a positive environment for the classroom as the caliber of work rises.

 

