I often use presentations in my classroom for vocabulary and grammar concepts.  In the past, I’ve used Powerpoint, Google Slides, and Prezi.  I think that Prezi was the least favorite of my students due to the constant movement. I’ve also used Glogster and Haiku Deck on my iPad.  For this assignment, I’m going to explore Blendspace for K12.

Screenshot 2016-03-02 at 11.16.54 AM.pngJust kidding!  Looks like I’ll explore another site.  Let’s see….  Canva.com seems to be the best tool to use for my assignment.  My Spanish III students will be assigned a presentation using Canva to discuss the information behind the masks they are creating in class.  They will use the mask and Canva work to present to the classroom in Spanish while using Unit 3 Section 2 vocabulary – Buying Souveniers in a Puerto Rican Market.

Students can take pictures of the various stages of mask creation.  They can use these pictures in the presentations so that they don’t have to pay for the images included in the software.  I do like that they can use their Facebook photos as well.

The ISTE standard that this meets is “Facilitate and Inspire Student Learning and Creativity a,b,d”.  Students will have several opportunities to create original work with the mask and the presentation.  This will enhance student ownership of materials and promote self-expression.

Below is my example presentation.

https://www.canva.com/design/DABscEXGNNA/D_QVlULtc2t1wN_Ab3Pg4w/view?&utm_content=DABscEXGNNA&utm_campaign=designshare&utm_medium=link&utm_source=sharebutton

