For this assessment, I chose the video player YouTube and the audio player iTunesU to enhance technology in my content area of World Languages-Spanish.

I saved several videos of authentic Spanish music to a playlist so that I can use it to enhance the classroom environment while students are working independently or in groups.  I also have a playlist of videos that teach different grammatical lessons to enhance the text book instruction and my personal teaching styles.  I often add these to my school website so that students have access, though my channels are public and can be accessed by searching for them.

I don’t like the idea of using iTunesU as it requires Apple products; our school uses Google and Windows software.  I did search for various Spanish podcasts, but didn’t find any that I am ambitious to use.

 

For the MiLearnersOnline assignment, I chose Khan Academy and SpeechAce to enhance classroom instruction.  I have a love/hate relationship with Khan Academy. I love the idea of it and it’s usefulness for Core Classes and for test prep.  I am disappointed in it’s resources for the Humanities – especially the World Languages.  It would make sense to have programs for all content areas.  Unfortunately, there are very limited resources for WL teachers in existing programs like Khan Academy.  Fingers crossed that something becomes available soon!! I did learn that Khan Academy is now available in Spanish, but there is not a Spanish course.

The SpeechAce tools is an add on that can be used for pronunciation benefits while learning a WL.  I think that this is useful for the authentic documents online and other research components for students.  They can also improve their listening and speaking skills. Of course, it’s currently an English speaking tool, but that doesn’t mean that a Spanish tool isn’t in the works!

Screenshot 2016-02-25 at 3.10.29 PM.png

 

