So, I started this tutorial thinking that it would be easy… but little did I know that my school-provided Chromebook doesn’t allow for the Word Clouds to be made… Sigh…

But, after trying all three sites, I was able to use the Word Clouds on ABCYA.com.  It was a fairly easy process.  Similar to problems with cross word puzzles, it’s hard to make visual word diagrams for Spanish words as they all have articles.  This was a challenge, but I was able to make it more Spanish-friendly for my students!  I’m excited to use this in class tomorrow!! This will serve as a visual of Chapter 1 vocabulary words for Don Quijote de la Mancha (Foreign Language #4).

I also created a Word Cloud of my classroom rule and grading changes for the second semester.  I like that it highlights the main words and ideas for students and parents.

MyCloud.jpeg

Additionally, I used bubbl.us to create a concept map for my upcoming chapter test in Spanish II.  The test focuses on Sports vocabulary with cultural flavors from the Dominican Republic and the United States.  Students can see the sections, point values, and main focuses of each area to assist them in their studying and prioritizing of material.

Screenshot 2016-02-03 at 6.49.45 PM.png

The QR Code that I made for students and my PowerPoints. I can also place this on my business cards and on posters outside of my classroom.  I used the Google Chrome Widget.  It was really user friendly.

Finally, I used Piktochart to create an info-graphic for my upcoming class field trip to Costa Rica in April of 2016.  It was a lot of work, and, though it looks visually appealing, it doesn’t do exactly what I had in mind.  I’m not sure yet if I would use this in the classroom for a couple reasons.

  1.  The amount of work to design and implement one exceeds the amount of time that teachers have to devote to something in a single evening.  For example, I have spent 30 minutes creating something just to play around, and there is no way I would share this in public!  I would have to invest even more time to present something that I would need to share with my students or parents.  I’m not sure that I would have students make one either as we have limited time in the classroom.  I think I would have to allow for 3-4 days in a computer lab to execute something worthy of publication.
  2. It’s not my style of visual aide.  It’s too… blah? I’m not sure how to describe it.  I feel like a web designer when making it, and I don’t want to spend 10-15 just to get pretty text into a pretty box. I can do that in 30 seconds on Word and the same idea is conveyed. Venting over!
  3. I need it to be more user friendly.  I want to access tools with less than 2 clicks of the mouse.  It’s 2016… that should happen!  I had to search and look up information… it was crazy! And, yeah, a little more practice can go a long way, but I can’t wait until June to impact my classroom tomorrow!

This can be found on my BLOG.  Enjoy!

 

